LORD  BYRON  and  his  TIMES
Documents Biography Criticism

The “Pope” of Holland House
John Whishaw to Thomas Smith, 13 February 1821

Chapter I: 1813
Chapter II: 1814
Chapter III: 1815
Chapter IV: 1816
Chapter V: 1817
Chapter VI: 1818
Chapter VII: 1819
Chapter VIII: 1820
Chapter IX: 1821
Chapter X: 1822
Chapter XI: 1824-33
Chapter XII: 1833-35
Chapter XIII: 1806-40
Chapter XIV: Appendix
Creative Commons License

Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
Produced by CATH
Feb. 13, 1821.

Lord J. Russell carried his Grampound2 Bill in

1 Afterwards second Lord Dunfermline.

2 A corrupt borough which was disfranchised. This borough, with its handful of sixty electors, became notorious after the General Election of 1818. Wholesale corruption had prevailed through the bribery exercised by Sir Manasseh Lopez, one of the leading boroughmongers in the West of England. He was convicted of bribery in both Cornwall and Devon, and sentenced to a heavy fine as well as to imprisonment at Exeter. Lord John Russell brought the circumstances before the House of Commons on May 11, 1819, and the affairs of the borough came in that Parliament (1818-20) and in its successor of 1820-26 frequently before the members of both Houses of Parliament. Ultimately the borough was disfranchised, and its two members transferred, after 1826, to the county of York. Down to 1832 “Grampound alone, of all the English boroughs, could boast that it had been disfranchised” (W. P. Courtney, “Parliamentary Representation of Cornwall to 1832,” pp. 183-205).

The Opposition
favour of Leeds last night in the House of Commons; but it will assuredly be thrown out by the Lords.
Ward spoke very well on this question, and was, rather unexpectedly, on the side of Reform. The number of good speeches has been considerable this Session, and they have all been on the side of the Opposition. Such, however, is the state of Parliament that Canning is no longer wanted by Ministers. Even Lord Castlereagh might be spared, and the House of Commons might be led by Bragge1 and Vansittart.